one drawer at a time


Spring cleaning has begun in earnest around here, and what better place to start than my desk? And what better way to start than small? Starting small means you have less to lose if you don’t succeed. There’s less at stake. And it’s far less intimidating to begin a small project. You’re also more likely to complete it.

I recently spent about 30 minutes cleaning out my desk drawer. It had become a jumble of office supplies I use regularly. I didn’t need to discard things as much as I need to group like items together so I could see exactly what I had and find it easily. As you can see, the result is a more efficient, less crowded space that lets me see in a glance what I’m looking for. Now I can easily find the whale-shaped paperclips my son bought for me after I finished reading Moby-Dick.

You can use this method to organize any space, too:

– Remove all the contents.

– Clean the space.

– Discard/donate anything you don’t need or want. Put items that belong elsewhere in their proper place.

– Group like items together.

– Return the contents to the space, using containers (bins, boxes, etc.) to keep them tidy.

– Maintain your system by putting items back where they belong and tidying up periodically.

BEFORE. No wonder I was constantly rummaging through my supplies to find paper clips and sticky notes.

AFTER. Ah, bliss. Like items are grouped together, and everything is visible immediately. No more scrambling for staples.

About organizesf

Professional organizer June Bell (www.organizesf.com) combats clutter and chaos with sage advice, tested techniques and good humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

