One shovelful at a time


Today was a blissfully balmy day, just the perfect weather for … spreading the mountain of mulch that’s been looming in our driveway for two weeks now. I spent two hours today¬† shoveling it onto our flowerbeds and around our shrubs. All told, I’ve put in about seven hours at this task, yet the pile doesn’t look all that much smaller. I joke to my husband that it’s growing when I turn my back. But I know it’s shrinking, even if it’s not happening as quickly as I’d like.

Maybe you’ve had the same experience with organizing. That crowded closet looks just as stuffed even when you pull out a few outdated shirts. Or that pile of papers doesn’t appear to be any smaller though you tossed a heap of junk mail. But have faith. A little effort on a regular basis goes a long way toward 1) maintaining your status quo (which sometimes is the best anyone can do) and 2) making progress.

What little steps do you take regularly to keep clutter at bay?

About organizesf

Professional organizer June Bell (www.organizesf.com) combats clutter and chaos with sage advice, tested techniques and good humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One shovelful at a time

  1. I really wish I had a good answer. My favorite organizational tool is a big, black trash bag. When the kids get on the bus, I’ve been known to go through drawers, closets, desks, backpacks, you name it, and pitch whatever I feel is useless. Ignored. Trash. Junky toy from the dollar store. The sad thing is when they come home they say to me, “My room looks AWESOME! Thanks Mom!”
    They never miss all that clutter anyway. That visual noise gives me a migraine!

    Good luck blogging daily-I also joined the ‘thon. Here’s to day two!

    • organizesf says:

      Thanks for your comment, Rachel. Yes, the Big Sweep can be a very effective way to combat kids’ clutter. Just don’t try it on your husband’s stuff!

  2. I don’t have a clutter strategy other than to throw a fit twice a year and start shoving things sight unseen into a trash bag. LOL

  3. shelcluzo says:

    I once had a roommate who constantly complained about my ‘clutter’. She decided to ‘help’ me by instructing to take everything off of and out from under the bedside table and put it in a pile in the middle of the room. Now sort into, 1. goes back neatly. 2. Trash and 3. Hide it elsewhere.

  4. shelcluzo says:

    I had to ‘sort’ my feelings into 1. Even though I resent her intrusive attitude I am also 2. desiring to be seen as accomodating and therefore ‘friendly’ and 3. fear that if I didn’t appease her in this small trade off she might take more drastic measures.
    I realized that she was much younger than I and therefore had opinions firmly set about how a room ‘should’ look. I, however having had a husband and four children as well as the artist’s knack for seeing creative possibilities in what others call clutter, knew in my heart of hearts that most things are forgivable. I tend to forgive myself for leaving things out where I can see them. How much of this is fear that once out of sight it will be out of mind I do not know. Though I seem to remember trying to use that excuse with the roommate. She didn’t buy it, kindly volunteering to remind me if I suddenly needed my Mother’s Day chocolate rose where I had cleverly hidden it.

Leave a Reply

