Un-dressed for success


When I worked for The Florida Times-Union in Jacksonville, Fla., and The Daily Report in Atlanta covering trials, legal issues and the courthouse, I dressed like most of the female lawyers I wrote about: silk blouses and tailored jackets with matching straight skirts. I was especially fond of a smart silk suit from SteinMart in the palest mint green, worn with a cream-colored V-neck blouse and a colorful scarf. Wish I had a photo of that to share with you!

When I struck out on my own as a freelance writer, my suits hung in my closet, unworn. They were in excellent condition and still in style. Stuffing them into a bag for Goodwill seemed, well, extreme. I wanted them to benefit women who would enjoy and appreciate them as much as I did — and would feel as confident and fashionable as I did in them.

Thank goodness for Career Closet. This Northern California nonprofit provides work-apppropriate clothing for women who can’t afford it. The volunteers there gratefully accepted my donations, and I felt good about donating them.

If Career Closet’s two locations aren’t close to you, a Dress for Success site most likely is. (They’re all over the U.S. and around the world.)

With the unemployment rate so high and so many people looking for work, now is an excellent time to cull the quality clothing from your closet and donate it to a non-profit that helps women (and men) look the part of a confident professional.

I find it a lot less challenging to let go of “perfectly good” things when I know they’re going to be enjoyed by someone who will really appreciate them and use them. My clients say the same thing. How about you?

About organizesf

Professional organizer June Bell (www.organizesf.com) combats clutter and chaos with sage advice, tested techniques and good humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Un-dressed for success

  1. janudlock says:

    Nice post and so important to let everyone know about the clothing program.

    IMP3RfeCt Mom http://www.janudlock.com/

  2. Pingback: Get ready to give it all away | enough is enough!

Leave a Reply

