You’re a real card


If you had a baby or a birthday and you’re a friend of mine, you probably received a card from me. Ditto for getting engaged, married or promoted. I usually manage to have the right card for just about any occasion, but I rarely shop for them.

My secret is a box of assorted all-occasion cards. Sold in sturdy lidded boxes, these collections of cards cover birthdays for adults and kids, new babies, weddings, good news (promotions) and bad news (deaths). And several cards in each box are blank inside, allowing me to write, “Congratulations on your college acceptance!” or “I know you’ll find a job soon.”

I’ve picked up attractive collections at Costco for less than a dollar per card, though I haven’t seen them there in a while. If you search “box of all-occasion greeting cards” you’ll find sites like this one that sells them too.

Do you still send paper cards or have you switched to e-cards? Or have you given up completely on cards and opted to text, e-mail or use social networking sites to connect?

About organizesf

Professional organizer June Bell (www.organizesf.com) combats clutter and chaos with sage advice, tested techniques and good humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You’re a real card

  1. How do I say this? I’m a clutterer. I can purge stuff when I put my mind to it. But until then I make piles. The husband is like the one you described a few posts down. He still has a couple of boxes of college texts, which are going on 40 years. Will he be ready to get rid of them in the next coming purge? I hope so. I’m rambling here because your posts have pulled the thoughts out of me. I’ve clicked on your RSS feed because I like what your words are doing to my mind, essentially prodding me to get a bit less cluttered. I could’ve found you earlier on the blogathon list if I hadn’t worked backwards. 🙂 By the way, regarding cards, I do it all. Sending cards through the mail is still my favorite.

Leave a Reply

