Waste not …


I’m so excited about tomorrow’s household hazardous waste pickup.

Yes, you read that right. It sounds odd, but I can’t help but be enthusiastic about an opportunity to have clutter removed from my garage without having to load it into the car and haul it anywhere.

Our county’s waste collector recently began offering door-to-door pickup of paint, batteries, consumer electronics, pesticides, cleaning products and solvents for residents of my town. I’m thrilled because this means I can easily clear out a half-dozen rusty paint cans and a spray can of WD-40 that no longer sprays but is nearly full. I’d been hanging onto these items knowing I couldn’t in good conscience toss them in the trash. But driving to the hazardous-waste disposal center wasn’t on the top of my priority list.

But the folks at Curbside Inc., contracted by RethinkWaste, provided me with a handy collection kit (a large, heavy plastic bag and tie) to gather hazardous items. They’ll pick them up tomorrow from my driveway.

If your town doesn’t have such a program, please encourage your councilmembers to start one. Protecting our earth and groundwater from contamination is the overarching reason to properly dispose of hazardous materials, but clearing out clutter from your cabinets, garage and shelves is certainly a good one too!

About organizesf

Professional organizer June Bell (www.organizesf.com) combats clutter and chaos with sage advice, tested techniques and good humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waste not …

  1. Debbie says:

    I’m jealous! I have a bag of batteries in the kitchen drawer plus some paint in the garage, and broken appliances in there too. I’d like to bring them by your place – with some TastyKakes!

Leave a Reply

