Spring cleaning!


The rain has finally stopped here in the San Francisco Bay Area and the birds are chirping, the flowers are blooming and so on. I’m not sure if it’s the robins or the flowering jasmine, but I’ve got this tremendous urge to spring clean, declutter and simplify.

Well, maybe I’m inspired by next week’s national conference of the National Association of Professional Organizers, which will be held in San Diego. I’m excited about attending, learning new skills, seeing new products that may help my clients and sharing ideas with other organizers from all over the world. And I couldn’t possibly show up there without my own house in order, right?

The grand idea of Spring Cleaning can be daunting, so I’m starting small. Tomorrow I’ll be mailing my 6-year-old niece in Philadelphia two shirts I’d been meaning to send her. They were in a bag in my closet.

I also have been leafing through my extensive magazine collection (OK, it’s a stack on the coffee table–hardly a carefully gathered set) and relentlessly tossing issues into the recycling bin WITHOUT READING EVERY ARTICLE, considering every recipe or trying every craft. And so far, so good.

I’ve also committed to removing five items from my desk. They are small things, like a business card for someone I need to reconnect with, information about replacing a missing hubcap and some copies of a magazine in which I have two bylined articles. I’ve also found an odd cable in my desk that I’ll ask Tech Support (aka my husband) if I can discard (or at least have him store it with our cable collection).

Whew. I feel lighter already. What are you doing to get ready for spring?

About organizesf

Professional organizer June Bell (www.organizesf.com) combats clutter and chaos with sage advice, tested techniques and good humor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring cleaning!

  1. I’ve been bringing my “used” magazines to the gym – they disappear quickly. I need to get rid of a large carseat and stroller that have been sitting in the garage!

    Have fun at the convention – and bring us back some helpful tips!

  2. Have a great time at the conference!
    A few days ago I purged my closet (again) ~ it’s amazing how I always seem to find something new in there to donate, and I never miss the item once it’s gone.

Leave a Reply

